Skip to content

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, or NATO, started with 12 countries in 1949 and has since grown into a military alliance among Canada, the United States and 27 European nations. It requires members to commit to helping each other defend against any attack. NATO's initial purpose was to defend Western Europe from the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

Enjoy our Free+ stories and our weekly newsletter

Start your free access

Already have an account? Log in