Skip to content


The nation formerly known as Czechoslovakia was established in 1918 at the end of World War I and the dissolution of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. During the German occupation of World War II, Bohemia, Moravia and the Slovak Republic were set up. At the end of the war, Czechoslovakia was re-established. It became a Soviet satellite state in 1948, but held free elections after the 1989 anti-communist revolution. In 1993, two independent successors, the Czech and Slovak republics, were created.


Enjoy our Free+ stories and our weekly newsletter

Start your free access

Already have an account? Log in